Specifications
| Collection | bagged |
|---|---|
| Filtration | Disposable dust bag 391C, electrostatically charged double-thickness filter bag (retains 0.10 micron at 85%); washable secondary filter (Amazon) |
| Motors | 1 |
| Air watts | 550 |
| Water lift | Not yet verified |
| Airflow | Not yet verified |
| Manufacturer sq ft rating | 4,000 sq ft |
| Noise (manufacturer rating) | 66 dB |
| Motor | Not stated; 1 motor |
| Amps | Not yet verified |
| Power | plug-in 120V |
| Exhaust outside | optional |
| Pipe size | 2in |
| Mount | Wall bracket |
| Dimensions | 14.62 D x 13.25 W x 29.75 H (Amazon); diameter 11.25 |
| Weight | Not yet verified |
| Warranty | 5 years (motor 5) |
"Not yet verified" means the manufacturer has not published the figure or we could not confirm it. We never fill a gap with a guess; our own measurements are added once a unit has been tested hands-on.
The short version
What we like
- ✓Manufacturer-published 550 air watts, 66 dB and 4,000 sq ft rating
- ✓Disposable 391C bag, utility inlet on the unit, 6 ft cord
- ✓5-year unit warranty with 3 years parts and labor
- ✓Drainvac itself sells on Amazon as Metal MP
What we'd change
- ✕Water lift, CFM, amps and weight are not published
- ✕550 air watts is the low end of residential units
- ✕Warranty term conflicts: 5 years (Drainvac) vs 3 years (Amazon bullet)
- ✕Drainvac's series page calls MP-Air hybrid while the 550 page says disposable bag
Who this unit is for
The Drainvac MP-Air 550 is for a small home, rated by Drainvac for 4,000 sq ft, whose owner wants a simple bagged unit from a manufacturer that is active and reachable. Drainvac (Metal MP Inc., Quebec) now owns the Broan-NuTone central vacuum line, and this unit’s footprint, bag series and figures line up closely with the discontinued NuTone PP5501, which makes it the obvious replacement candidate for that unit.
It is a low-voltage, plug-in unit. It is not for large homes or long pipe runs, and it does not offer bagless operation.
What the specs tell you
Drainvac lists 550 air watts, 66 dB, one motor and a 4,000 sq ft rating. Air watts predicts carpet cleaning at the tool; 550 is at the low end of residential units in our records and identical to the NuTone PP5501. Water lift, the sealed-suction figure that governs long runs and climbs, is not published, and neither is CFM, amps or weight. For a compact 4,000 sq ft layout those gaps matter less; for a far upstairs inlet we cannot tell you how it will perform.
Noise is 66 dB, the same as the PP5501. Amazon’s listing says no muffler is needed and mentions anti-vibration mounts.
Collection is bagged: a 391C disposable dust bag that Drainvac describes as electrostatically charged, double thickness, retaining 0.10 micron particles at 85 percent, in a 22.7 L / 6 gal canister, with a washable secondary filter per Amazon. The trade-off is clean changes and a protected motor against buying bags. Note the conflict: Drainvac’s MP-Air series page describes the units as hybrid with a permanent filter, while the 550 page says it operates with a disposable bag.
Motor type and stages are not stated.
Fit and compatibility
Standard 2-inch pipe, wall bracket mount. The record lists low-voltage inlet operation; direct-connect electric is not listed. Plug-in 120V on a 6 ft cord per Amazon; not hardwired. Amazon describes a multi-direction inlet, and the unit has a utility inlet.
Exhaust outside is optional. Dimensions per Amazon are 14.62 in deep by 13.25 in wide by 29.75 in high, with an 11.25 in diameter body.
What’s in the box, and what you still need
In the box: the power unit with utility inlet, one disposable dust bag, and per Amazon a 6 ft power cord and wall-mount support.
Not included: hose and attachments, pipe, fittings and inlets. Add 391C bags and an exhaust cap if venting outside.
Warranty and support
Drainvac’s page: 5 years on the power unit, 3 years parts and labor, 1 year on accessories, warranted by Metal MP Inc. for the MP-Air line. Metal MP reserves the right to limit the warranty if the unit is not registered; registration serves as proof of purchase, and if receipts cannot be produced the warranty period runs from the manufacture date. Unauthorized repair voids coverage; labor is covered only at an authorized Drainvac dealer or the plant; shipping and travel are at the customer’s expense. An Amazon bullet says 3 years, which conflicts with Drainvac’s 5.
Drainvac’s warranty page does not mention marketplaces, but Drainvac itself appears to sell on Amazon as the Drainvac Store (seller Metal MP). If your listing’s seller is Metal MP, you are buying from the manufacturer. Drainvac has no direct online store otherwise and uses a dealer locator.
Living with it
Bag changes use 391C bags; Drainvac gives no interval, so change at about two-thirds full. The Amazon listing mentions a washable secondary filter; rinse it at bag changes. The utility inlet lets you plug a hose in at the unit.
At 66 dB, mount it in a garage or utility area. Venting outside is optional, so a basement install without a vent is possible.
What we’d verify before buying
- Water lift: not published.
- CFM: not published.
- Amps: not published.
- Weight: not published.
- Motor type and stages: not stated.
- Collection: disposable bag (550 page) versus hybrid with permanent filter (series page).
- Warranty: 5 years (Drainvac) versus 3 years (Amazon).
- Seller name on your listing (Metal MP is the manufacturer).
- Whether a PP5501 bracket carries over, if that is your replacement scenario.
What's in the box, and what you still need
Included
- ✓ disposable dust bag
- ✓ utility inlet on unit
- ✓ 6 ft power cord (Amazon)
- ✓ wall-mount support (Amazon)
Buy separately
- + hose and attachments
- + pipe, fittings, inlets
Most power units ship without a hose or powerhead. Our attachments guide explains which hose fits your inlets.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Drainvac MP-Air 550 a rebadged NuTone PP5501?
No source says so. The record notes that its 6 gal capacity, 391-series bag, 66 dB rating, 6 ft cord, multi-direction inlet and 13.25 by 29.75 in footprint match the discontinued PP5501, and the Amazon title reads Drainvac Broan-nutone. Treat it as an observation.
What is it rated for?
4,000 sq ft per Drainvac; Amazon says 1,000 to 4,000.
Is it bagged?
Yes. It uses a 391C disposable dust bag in a 22.7 L / 6 gal canister. Drainvac's MP-Air series page describes the line as hybrid with a permanent filter, which conflicts with the 550 page.
How loud is it?
66 dB per Drainvac. Amazon says no muffler is needed.
What is the warranty?
Drainvac's page: 5 years on the power unit, 3 years parts and labor, 1 year accessories, warranted by Metal MP Inc. An Amazon bullet says 3 years.
Does it vent outside?
Outside venting is optional per the record.