Skip to content
CentralVacuums.co

Imperium · Review

Imperium CV300 Review

Imperium's paper-bag CV300 claims 740 air watts, 58 dB and 7,500 sq ft, but water lift, CFM and amps are unpublished and every figure comes from the listing alone.

CentralVacuums.co is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money →

Will it work in your home?

  • Standard 2-inch central vac pipe

    Fits the pipe already in most homes.

  • Low-voltage inlets

    Standard low-voltage operation is assumed, not stated by a source.

  • Direct-connect electric inlets

    Low-voltage and direct-connect compatibility are standard-residential assumptions in the record, not stated by a source. Confirm before pairing with 120V direct-connect inlets.

  • Plugs into a standard outlet

    plug-in 120V

  • No exterior exhaust vent needed

    Optional. Vent outside if you can.

  • Hose and powerhead included

    Unit only. See "What you still need" below.

  • Size and weight

    25.75 H x 12.875 D (Amazon table: 25.38 L x 12.88 W x 25.38 H)

Not sure what inlets you have? Identify your inlet type in 30 seconds →

Specifications

Specifications for Imperium CV300 Central Vacuum Power Unit (paper bag, 740 air watts)
Collection bagged
Filtration Disposable paper bag (VacuMaid/AstroVac-type HEPA bags listed as compatible; Amazon 'Filter type: Cartridge')
Motors 1
Air watts 740
Water lift Not yet verified
Airflow Not yet verified
Manufacturer sq ft rating 7,500 sq ft
Noise (manufacturer rating) 58 dB
Motor 2-stage Thru-flow, 2-stage (Ametek Lamb 122683 listed as compatible replacement motor)
Amps Not yet verified
Power plug-in 120V
Exhaust outside optional
Pipe size 2in
Mount Wall bracket
Dimensions 25.75 H x 12.875 D (Amazon table: 25.38 L x 12.88 W x 25.38 H)
Weight Not yet verified
Warranty Motor 10 years; see warranty section

"Not yet verified" means the manufacturer has not published the figure or we could not confirm it. We never fill a gap with a guess; our own measurements are added once a unit has been tested hands-on.

The short version

What we like

  • ✓740 air watt and 58 dB claims are among the strongest in our records
  • ✓Simple paper-bag design with a utility inlet on the unit
  • ✓10-year motor warranty claimed; made in the USA
  • ✓Plugs into a standard 120V outlet

What we'd change

  • ✕Every spec comes from the Amazon listing; no manufacturer page is reachable
  • ✕Water lift, CFM, amps and weight are not published
  • ✕Warranty is void if the registration card is not returned within 30 days

Who this unit is for

The Imperium CV300 is for a buyer who wants a plain, bagged, US-built power unit and is comfortable that the only documentation is a retailer listing. Imperium is the private label of Central Vacuum Stores, built by Lindsay Manufacturing of Ponca City, Oklahoma, which also makes VacuMaid. The listing rates it for 7,500 sq ft.

It is not for anyone who compares water lift or CFM across brands, because those figures do not exist for this unit anywhere we could find.

What the specs tell you

The listing claims 740 air watts from a 2-stage thru-flow motor. Air watts is the combined measure of airflow and suction that predicts carpet cleaning, and 740 would put this unit alongside VacuMaid’s SR14 at the top of our records. But water lift, the sealed-suction figure that tells you how the unit copes with long pipe runs and climbs, is not published, and neither is CFM or amperage. Without water lift we cannot say how it will behave on a far upstairs inlet.

The listing’s 58 dB would be among the quietest figures we have. Treat it the way you treat the air watt claim: plausible, unconfirmed.

Collection is bagged only, with a 6.25 gal disposable paper bag. Retailers list VacuMaid and AstroVac-type HEPA bags as compatible, which is consistent with a Lindsay-built unit, but no bag part number is in the record. The trade-off is the usual one: clean changes and a protected motor against a consumable and no bagless option. The listing’s filter description is inconsistent, calling the filter type a cartridge while describing a paper bag.

Also unpublished: weight. Dimensions are given as 25.75 in high by 12.875 in deep, with the listing’s table repeating 25.38 in for two axes.

Fit and compatibility

Standard 2-inch pipe and a wall bracket mount. The record lists low-voltage and direct-connect electric inlet compatibility and plug-in 120V power, but flags all three as standard-residential assumptions rather than anything a source states. A utility inlet on the unit is listed as included.

Exhaust venting guidance is not stated; the record treats outside venting as optional. There is no muffler in the box, so if you vent indoors, budget for one.

What’s in the box, and what you still need

In the box, per the listing: the power unit with utility inlet, one paper bag and mounting hardware.

Not included: hose and attachments, pipe, fittings and inlets. Add bags once you confirm the part number, and an exhaust cap or muffler depending on how you vent.

Warranty and support

The listing claims a 10-year motor warranty. Imperium’s limited warranty terms, as recorded, are 5, 7 or 10 years depending on model, for the original owner, starting at installation. It is void if the warranty registration card is not returned within 30 days of purchase. Claims go through the Imperium dealer or the authorized distributor-installer who sold the unit, within 45 days of discovering a defect. Commercial use limits coverage to 90 days. Tampering with the motor blower or vacuuming drywall or cement dust voids it.

Marketplace purchases are not addressed. Because claims route through the selling dealer, a marketplace seller’s willingness to handle a claim is the practical question. Parts support exists through Central Vacuum Stores’ Imperium parts pages.

Living with it

Bag changes are the whole maintenance routine. Confirm the bag part number with the seller and keep a supply; the listing’s compatibility note points to VacuMaid and AstroVac-type HEPA bags. The utility inlet on the unit lets you plug a hose in at the power unit for garage work.

If 58 dB holds up it is a quiet unit, but with no venting guidance we would still mount it on a garage or exterior utility wall.

What we’d verify before buying

  • Water lift: not published.
  • CFM: not published.
  • Amps: not published.
  • Weight: not published.
  • Inlet types and plug-in power: assumed, not stated.
  • Exhaust venting guidance: not stated.
  • Bag part number and HEPA status: listed as compatible with VacuMaid/AstroVac-type bags; filter type field conflicts.
  • Dimensions: listing table is internally inconsistent.
  • Whether the 10-year motor warranty and 30-day registration rule apply to your purchase.

What's in the box, and what you still need

Included

  • ✓ 1 paper bag
  • ✓ mounting hardware
  • ✓ utility inlet on unit

Buy separately

  • + hose and attachments
  • + pipe, fittings, inlets

Most power units ship without a hose or powerhead. Our attachments guide explains which hose fits your inlets.

Frequently asked questions

Who makes the Imperium CV300?

Imperium is a private label of Central Vacuum Stores, built by Lindsay Manufacturing, the maker of VacuMaid. The listed compatible replacement motor is an Ametek Lamb 122683 and the control board is a Lindsay part.

What bags does it use?

A 6.25 gal disposable paper bag. Retailers list VacuMaid and AstroVac-type HEPA bags as compatible. Confirm the part number with the seller.

What is the water lift?

Not published. The listing gives 740 air watts but no water lift, CFM or amp figure.

Does it have to vent outside?

Venting guidance is not stated. The record treats outside exhaust as optional.

What is the warranty?

The listing claims a 10-year motor warranty. Imperium's limited warranty is for the original owner and is void if the registration card is not returned within 30 days of purchase.

How loud is it?

The listing says 58 dB. No manufacturer document confirms it.

Should you buy the Imperium CV300 Central Vacuum Power Unit (paper bag, 740 air watts)?

Buy it if…

  • →You want a bagged unit built by Lindsay Manufacturing and can live with retailer-only documentation
  • →A quiet rating matters and 58 dB holds up when you ask the seller
  • →You will register the warranty within 30 days

Pick something else if…

  • →You want manufacturer-published specs before buying
  • →You want bagless or hybrid collection
  • →You have a long, tall pipe run and need a known water lift figure
Check price on Amazon(affiliate links)

Alternatives worth a look

Power unit

VacuMaid SR66 Disposable HEPA Bag Central Vacuum Power Unit, 6.6 in 2-stage tangential bypass

VacuMaid

  • 663 air watts
  • bagged
  • up to 10,000 sq ft
  • 2-stage motor
Power unit

Imperium CV7300 Cyclonic Central Vacuum Power Unit (bagless, 663 air watts)

Imperium

  • 663 air watts
  • bagless
  • up to 6,000 sq ft
  • 2-stage motor
Power unit

NuTone PurePower PP5501 Residential Central Vacuum Power Unit, 550 air watts

NuTone

  • 550 air watts
  • bagged
  • up to 4,000 sq ft
  • 1-stage motor

Written by Editorial team, Editor · Reviewed by Technical reviewer, Central vacuum installer

Published October 17, 2026 · Updated October 17, 2026

How we work →

Imperium CV300 Central Vacuum Power Unit (paper bag, 740 air watts)

Our score 7.8/10